New Reviews to Share

I am very pleased to share a couple of new reviews. Terry Baker has written the first review of In This Small Spot, my newest release. Please check it out at Affinity E-Books.  Over at the Lesbrary, Karelia Stetz-Waters wrote a review of Looking Through Windows. Please take a look and comment if you’d like.

In This Small Spot

This is Caren Werlinger’s third published book. Just like it’s predecessors, I couldn’t put it down. The story is a well written page turner from the very first page through to it’s climatic and dramatic conclusion.

Being perfectly honest, when I read the synopsis, my heart was in my mouth. I’m not at all religious and I really didn’t know how I was going to read what I thought was a book all about nuns, let alone write a review on it. Well, let me tell you, it was easy. You don’t have to be religious to read this heart felt, often at times, heart breaking story. Although the settings are mainly in the abbey, the story does go far beyond the abbey and religion.  I don’t want to put in any spoilers, the synopsis is enough, so suffice it to say, that getting to know these characters was a privilege and an honor for me. Reading this story is likewise.  Read More…

Looking Through Windows

Looking Through Windows by Caren Werlinger tells the story of Emily, a young teaching assistant grieving the death of her girlfriend, and Ann, a Peace Corp volunteer, finally back in the United States and wondering why heterosexual relationships leave her unfulfilled. The story charts their blossoming friendship and love and the challenges placed in the way of their relationship.

I knew Looking Through Windows was not going to be a standard romance when Ann and Emily admit their mutual attraction and then decide not to act on it because neither of them is emotionally ready.

What? No! I thought. They are supposed to melt into a pool of viscous lust, not make an emotionally intelligent choice that honors their friendship and supports the possibility of a deeper, healthier relationship in the future.

Therein lies the strength of Werlinger’s book.  This isn’t escapist fiction. This is a realistic portrayal of – surprise! – mature love.   Read More…

2 thoughts on “New Reviews to Share

  1. Caren, These were two really good reviews–well done, I mean. They indicated that the reviewers appreciated your strengths in writing these two great books. Thanks for sharing, and keep ’em coming! Marty

Leave a Reply

