It’s a Small World

I have kind of a silly confession to make… I had no idea when I started a blog that anyone would actually read it. I mean, I knew my partner would read it (not like she has a choice), and my sister and probably a few friends, but one of the absolute funnest things (and no, that’s not really a word, but it fits) about having this blog is seeing how many people from so many different countries have popped in to take a peek. We’ve had visitors from Australia, New Zealand, England/UK, Canada, France, Germany, Croatia, Sweden, Israel, India, Russia, Ecuador. I’m not listing those in any particular order and I hope I’m not missing any countries (I should have kept a list).  Although I speak a few languages, I had to use an on-line translator for some of the greetings below, so I apologize if there is a mis-translation anywhere. I wanted to say thank you for coming by to read, wherever you’re from. I have been so thrilled to see you here. So… a quiz for those of you who are incurably curious. See if you can identify all the languages below (and the first doesn’t count since you obviously read English or you wouldn’t be here to begin with!)

G’day. Welcome to my blog.

Hej. Välkommen till min blogg.

Hola. Bienvenidos a mi blog.

привет. Добро пожаловать на мой блог.

हाय. मेरे ब्लॉग में आपका स्वागत है.

Salut. Bienvenue sur mon blog.

.שלום. ברוכים הבאים לבלוג שלי

Hallo. Willkommen Sie auf meinem Blog.

Pozdrav. Dobrodošli na moj blog.

ghaH ‘ej Duvan. nuqneH blog.

As much as I dislike much of what the internet allows in terms of making it easier for people to be mean and nasty, it is so humbling and gratifying to see it when it is used to bring people together. So, in that spirit, I will give away a copy of any of my books to three people who answer my quiz. Just comment with your answers, and the names of those who reply will be placed in a hat for Hermione to pick the winners. I’ll post a comment next Sunday evening with the names of the winners who can then contact me with a preferred e-mail address and file type.

Good luck!

10 thoughts on “It’s a Small World

  1. Zdravím a vítám vás ve svém blogu.
    Would be my version, the others are, (some I recognise some I guess): Svedish, Espaňol, Russian, French, German, Serbo-Croatian, what I guess are your Israel, India and Klingon visitors…
    Svetla

    • Svetla, thank you for adding Czechoslovakia to my little blog map! And you got the Klingon, too! So you’re obviously a Trek fan as well. Kapla! (Not sure I spelled that correctly…) Your name is in the hat for the book drawing. Na zdraví, Caren

    • Svetla, I’ve tried e-mailing you, but Yahoo is doing weird things lately. If you get this reply, e-mail me at cjwerlingerbooks AT yahoo DOT com and let me know which book you would like and what file type. Caren

  2. Hi, and thank you for this fun challenge! After installing some fonts (I was missing the devangari ones), here are my answers: English, Swedish, Spanish, Russian, Hindi, French, Hebrew, German, Croatian, and Klingon. Spotting Swedish was easy since I’m from Sweden. German, French and Spanish I recognized from school. My grandmother taught me to decipher Cyrillic and some Russian words. A Jewish classmate in high school knew Hebrew which we all thought was pretty cool, so he showed us words on the writing board from time to time. Hindi was a lot more recognizable with fonts installed. I’ve seen and heard Croatian regularly at a previous workplace of mine but it’s hard for me to differentiate it from other Slavic languages. You had me stumped with the Klingon. I was sure you had made that up yourself and it was not a language spoken by anyone on earth. Google proved me wrong on both counts :).

    • Jennifer, right on all counts – including the Klingon! I wanted to use Klingon “script”, but wordpress did weird things with it. (You could argue it isn’t a language spoken by anyone on earth, but I’ve never been to a Star Trek convention!) It sounds like you’ve had a very international background. Thank you for replying and your name is in the hat! Caren

    • Jennifer, I’ve tried e-mailing you, but Yahoo is doing weird things lately. If you get this reply, e-mail me at cjwerlingerbooks AT yahoo DOT com and let me know which book you would like and what file type. Caren

Leave a Reply

