What a Year!

Probably every blogger in the blogosphere is posting something profound – yesterday as 2013 ended, or today as 2014 gets underway. Endings and fresh starts – they always trigger introspection and a determination to try and do things better.

For me, 2013 was a memorable year for many reasons – some good, some not so good.

In March, I lost my father. I had a long drive home from the hospital the night he died and a lot of things went through my head as I drove and remembered. See ‘Memories of My Father’ in the March archives if you want to read more about that. I also found out that one of my best friends from high school had passed away(see ‘Transitions’, June archives). I miss both Dad and Peggy, and think of them every single day.

One of the best things about 2013 was that Beth and I got to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in October, on our twenty-first anniversary of being a couple. As Marriage Equality becomes real in more states here in the U.S. and around the world, I would tell those who are contemplating taking that step and wondering if it feels any different, “YES!” It does feel different. It is hard to articulate why or what exactly, but there is something powerful in that legal recognition. It may not be something that every couple feels they need, but it was the right thing for us.

Another fantastic thing about 2013 was getting my books published! I feel as if I have been writing forever, but for the longest time, only about five people had read my novels. With only one book actually published, and three others tied up in contractual limbo with various publishers for years, last December, all of the rights to my books reverted to me and I made the decision to publish them myself. That decision has been a mixed bag: elation at seeing three new books get into print and re-issuing my first; agonizing over sales and marketing; the joy of making new friends as readers from around the world have communicated their enjoyment of my stories; the tremendous gratification of having the three new releases all win or place in the recent Rainbow Awards. And through the generosity of my readers, Corgyn Publishing was able to donate $400 to our local food bank! Overall, the pros far outweigh the cons.

And so it seems fitting to announce, on this first day of 2014, the release of my newest novel, Year of the Monsoon. This story is deeply personal for me. It’s about a woman who was adopted and finds that everything she thought she knew about her family is not what it has seemed. I hope this is a story that will resonate with readers. It is now available as an e-book on Amazon and Smashwords and will soon be available as a paperback.

jpgYEAR OF THE MONSOONflat

My very best wishes to all of you for health, peace and happiness in 2014!

Caren

4 thoughts on “What a Year!

  1. Just bought it and looking forward to reading it later tonight. Happy to report your on my “must buy” list whenever you have a new book out. Wishing you and your’s a good new year. I’m looking forward to reading more books by you.

Leave a Reply

