She’s Singing!

Well, it doesn’t happen often that everything falls into perfect alignment, but today, it has. I woke up this morning to the news that In This Small Spot has been named a finalist in the 2014 Golden Crown Literary Awards in the Dramatic Fiction category. Considering the high level of quality in the nominations this year, that feels especially gratifying.

As thrilled as I am by my novel having been chosen as a finalist, I remember all too well how crushing it is when a book doesn’t get chosen. Author Clare Ashton (author of Goldie winner After Mrs. Hamilton) made a point on a group we both belong to that writing for writing’s sake vs. writing for sales and recognition is a sliding scale. I think she’s right. We write because we’re driven to, but after the euphoria of seeing that first book in print, there is an element of validation that comes from external things like sales and accolades. The hard part is not losing focus on why we write in the first place.

To that end, I am also consoling myself that Neither Present Time did not get named a finalist in the Contemporary Romance category. There were 65 entries in that category! Holy moly, that’s a lot of romancing goin’ on! But there were a LOT of really fine books in that category, so I can’t help but congratulate the authors whose books did get named as finalists.

We write because we have to… and so, I am announcing the release of my newest novel, She Sings of Old, Unhappy, Far-off Things.

proofSHE_SINGS3The e-book is available now at Smashwords and Amazon and will soon be available at Bella. The paperback should be available in a day or two.

I hope you enjoy this story as much I enjoyed writing it! For the back cover blurb, go to the Books page of this blog. For an excerpt, go to Winter’s on the Wing.

 

2 thoughts on “She’s Singing!

Leave a Reply

