Summertime Is Awesome!

Summertime IS awesome – cookouts, late night games of tag, catching fireflies, lazy evenings swinging on the porch swing. I could go on and on about my favorite childhood memories of summer, but for a lot of kids from low-income families, summer is a time of being hungry. For their parents, it’s a time of worry and stress. Those kids receive free or reduced-price breakfasts and lunches during the school year, and as soon as school is out for the summer, POOF! No more breakfasts or lunches.

Last year, I did a fundraiser for our local food bank, donating a percentage of my June royalties to them. I repeated the fundraiser in December and between the two, was able to donate $400 to the Blue Ridge Area Food Bank. It went so well, I’ve decided to make this an annual thing. SO, for the month of June, 50% of my royalties – Amazon, Smashwords, Bella, Winchester Book Gallery – all sources of sales will be included in the donation.

PLEASE, if you’ve been thinking about buying my books, or if there are one or two you haven’t purchased yet, OR if you have birthdays or other gift-giving occasions coming up, this would be a wonderful time to buy! You not only get a great story to keep you happy, but you get to do a really cool thing for some folks who could use a little help now.

If you’ve already purchased all of my books, I THANK YOU! Please consider making a donation to your local food bank, wherever you live. I know they’re all in the same boat. And just in case you didn’t take my word for it, check out the Kid President’s take on the issue.

I hope you all have a wonderful summer full of fun and laughter and time with loved ones.

Peace and full bellies to all,

Caren

2 thoughts on “Summertime Is Awesome!

  1. What a terrific idea, Caren. And so generous of you. I will definitely be completing my “CJ Werlinger” library during the month of June! Can I assume that it will apply to books I buy at my local bookstore [Outwords Books – Milwaukee] as well as purchasing them online?

Leave a Reply

