Some Days III

It’s another Friday of a week that has been a mixed bag of good news and not so good news. Remember “Brian”? My patient who was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer a few months after his stepson died of the same disease? Well, he’s still with us and on the upswing. This week, I got a hug and a promise that he’d be back for more physical therapy soon. My other patient, Mr. M, with the hip tumor is doing great. Thanks to so many people getting the ball rolling so quickly with him, his tumor is already shrinking in response to his chemo.

My dear friend, Sheila Connolly, who has been battling her own cancer for about a year now, continues to send good reports. She has more spots in different parts of her body, but she’s continuing to confound her doctors. Confound away, Sheila!

Another friend’s wife just had surgery for a recurrence of her cancer. This seems to have gone well and she is in recovery mode.

Sadly, another dear friend lost her father to his cancer.

I don’t know if it’s just the age my friends and I are, but it seems we are being inundated with one serious diagnosis after another. Some days, it does feel overwhelming.

Taped to my desk, I keep a copy of St. Francis’s Prayer for Peace. It helps to remind me that none of this is about me. No matter how overwhelming things feel to me, someone else is feeling more, needing more, hurting more.

IMG_0339Wishing you all a peaceful weekend with the ones you love. If you still have a mother here, make sure she knows how much you love her. If you don’t, celebrate something, no matter how small. We are so blessed if we only remember to look for the blessings.

Pax

 

4 thoughts on “Some Days III

  1. It’s great that there have been some improvements among those with bad diagnoses, but I’m sorry that there has been a loss.

    Caren, one thing I appreciate about your blog in general is that you address the difficult, and often overwhelming, aspects of life, but also consider how we can cope with these situations. I like the message that St. Francis’s Prayer for Peace offers.

    I’ll give my mother an extra hug tomorrow.

  2. Caren,
    I’m so glad to be counted among the happy outcomes. Thank you.
    I almost backed out of my chemo last Monday, due in part to the likely side effects of vomiting and diarrhea. And as I was waiting for the doctor to come in for our conversation and his reading on the blood work results (which were excellent, by the way), I thought of you and all my friends, family, and coworkers who continue to send me best wishes, prayers, cards, and at’ta boys, and I knew I couldn’t back away from doing my part of this getting well task. I’d be letting down our side.
    So I gave the doc a nod and we headed back to the infusion bay. I still wasn’t looking forward to the side effects (who would?) but I figured I might as well get them over with. I didn’t want to give in to my fears. Lo’ and behold, I did not suffer _any_ side effects from the treatment (unless you count tiredness).
    Thank you and all of the other folks who are keeping me in their thoughts and prayers.
    Blessings to you all.

  3. Oh, Sheila, I can’t imagine how tired you must be of battling this disease, but I am so glad you keep going, keep hoping and keep fighting. We need you around for a long, long time! You are constantly in our thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

