Buy Books! Feed Kids!

For those of you who have followed my blog, you know it’s time for my annual summer fundraiser for my local food bank.

We’re slowly crawling out of this recession, but there are still so many families that are struggling. HERE are some of the latest statistics on Hunger and Poverty in the U.S. There has been a lot of news coverage in recent months about the struggle for families to make a living wage if they only earn minimum wage.

Summers are an especially tough time as public schools are no longer in session, providing free breakfasts and lunches to kids from low-income families. They turn to food banks for extra help. And it’s not just families with kids. So many of our older folks are getting by, or trying to, on only Social Security, which doesn’t always stretch far enough to cover rent/mortgage, utilities, gas and food.

Since I started Corgyn Publishing, I’ve done these fundraisers twice a year. To date, we’ve raised $750 for the Blue Ridge Area Food Bank.

So here’s the deal: I will donate 50% of my royalties for all book sales from May and June to the food bank!

Your role: buy books! I promise you, they’re actually good stories, with characters that will stay with you long after you finish reading. You might need to invest in an extra box or two of tissues for some of them, but it’s worth it. Books make great gifts, too. You can gift an e-book as easily as a paperback now with just an e-mail address. Share the love with your friends!

As a thank-you, if you e-mail me at cjwerlingerbooksATyahooDOTcom, tell me which title you bought and from which vendor, I’ll be happy to send you a personalized bookmark or postcard ( but you may have to take potluck on which you get).

If you’ve read all of my books, thank you – from the top of my stomach (which is near the bottom of my heart), because I’ve been blessed enough to never truly know hunger.

Peace and full bellies to all,

Caren

bread

photo courtesy of wisegeek.org

 

4 thoughts on “Buy Books! Feed Kids!

Leave a Reply

