From This Nobody

“I’m Nobody! Who are you? Are you – Nobody – too?”  emily dickinson

In recently releasing my first fantasy, I dipped my toe into a HUGE, and I mean enormous pool of authors also writing fantasy. Movies and television shows like “Game of Thrones”, I’m sure, have helped fuel this genre, but for decades before that, it was spurred by  Tolkien, Le Guin, McCaffrey and others.

Lesbian fiction, on the other hand, is a relatively small genre – though it’s getting bigger every day. The authors and readers of lesbian fiction often speculate about why our work doesn’t appeal to the mainstream, and why we never reach mainstream levels of success.

This newest release has taught me something, though. In making my initial foray into being published through the lesbian fiction niche, I was able to create a name and following that I never, ever would have if I had published the fantasy first. Okay, maybe there’s a tiny chance it would have taken off (like it does in my dreams) and become a best-seller, but it’s not likely.

The extra visibility gained for this book by readers who already knew my work, and especially the extra boost of early reviews, has helped tremendously to get this story out to  readers who might not have found it otherwise.

RisingFTAshes_Smashwords

So, by way of thanks, I’m offering three signed copies of Rising From the Ashes: The Chronicles of Caymin to commenters on this blog. All you have to do is comment below before midnight Eastern time on Friday 8 April. DO NOT post your e-mail address. I will reply to the commenters who win (I’ll use a random number generator, so please only comment once). Next Saturday, I’ll post the names of the winners and ask you to e-mail me so we can arrange delivery. This is open to anyone anywhere in the world.

Thank you so much for reading and supporting my work.

Pax, Caren

9 April Update: It’s now Saturday morning and I’ve done the random number thingie…

And the winners are: Amy, Abby and Anya. I swear it was a random NUMBER generator and not a letter generator that got stuck on ‘A’!

Congratulations to them and thank you to everyone who commented. I’ll be contacting the A’s separately to arrange delivery.

15 thoughts on “From This Nobody

  1. Congratulations on your first published fantasy. Hope it is a roaring success. It would be great to get some lesfic into mainstream even if we have to ride on someone’s coattails. Every story helps.

  2. Although I have given it to my kids, I haven’t gotten a copy for myself yet :). I think you’re right that being known in a smaller niche genre should help you become known in a more mainstream one.

  3. Even though this book is so different from your usual style of writing, it still captured the magic of the writer and I enjoyed this book so much. It’s also on my list of best book I’ve read for the year. I also enjoy your blog, Caren as always and I look forward to seeing your next one.

  4. Caren is one of my favorite authors and I am a voracious reader. I have my favorites and was a bit skeptical about a fantasy. I am not a fantasy fan but I knew she would not disappoint. “Rising from the Ashes” is magical, moving and—in this reader’s opinion—enormously powerful. Her research is impeccable and the characters are richly developed. Readers of all ages will be drawn in. Haven’t we all wished to communicate with animals and trees and have them speak to us? Caren touches on that primal need to be connected. The protagonist is honorable, reflecting that better part of ourselves. While Ash has physical scars and emotional pain, she also has powerful gifts. She would give up her life to heal another creature and has a strong sense of right and wrong.

    “Rising from the Ashes” is an important and unique contribution to the fantasy literature and is highly recommended. I loved it. Caren found her voice in this novel. She is a gifted story-teller and has not hesitated to share her imaginings, longings, dreams and love of her homeland with us in this first installment. I know we all wait breathlessly to find out what happens next!

  5. I’ve enjoyed every book you’ve written including Rising from the Ashes. Looking forward to the next 2 books in the series. Thank you for the free kindle version. I don’t usually read fantasy and I strongly dislike my kindle but I couldn’t resist your generosity. I plan on buying the paperback but it would be even better autographed. I’d hate to double down on your generosity if I was lucky to have my name picked. Thank you for your well written, wonderful and thought provoking stories.

Leave a Reply

